5 Comments
author

I think finding small ways of feeling grounded make the day easier and we live more in the present

Expand full comment
Oct 30, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

International House Hunters every morning.

Just one episode.

I purchased a discovery+ membership on Amazon just so I could start watching International House Hunters from the very beginning, Season 1 Episode 1. lol

And it has become a morning ritual; if the power goes out or I'm traveling and miss out that episode, my whole day can be wonky.

And WOW, that show has changed over the years. It's been fascinating to watch the evolution (or devolution, depending) of the MUST HAVES that people moving abroad require.

Expand full comment
Oct 30, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

I swim twice a week (started during lockdown) but enjoy my morning swim on a Friday the most - signalling the end of a busy working week. I also run twice a week and enjoy my half hour warm up beforehand more! I nearly always have a relaxing, hot bath at the end of the day too. And one mid morning coffee

to get me going but no more as too twitchy after one. My little rituals.

Expand full comment

Going out clubbing every four weeks or so - totally letting the whole world disappear for several hours and losing myself in music, movement, laser-studded darkness and happy sweaty strangers. Psychologist Peter Levine describes how after an animal has frozen in a ‘flight fight freeze’ response and saved it’s own life, after the threat is gone it does a ‘mad dance’ to discharge the trauma from its body. I think of my clubbing ritual as my own ‘mad dance’ to shake off the stress of life.

Expand full comment