17 Comments
Jun 7, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

I've found just keeping myself busy on a morning and out of the way of my GCSE daughter is helping - this morning I took a cup of tea to the bottom of the garden to check on my plants. Keeping it very low key when she leaves, a quiet 'hope it goes ok' (not good luck!) and don't hassle her about whether she's got her pens etc.. She told me in no uncertain terms she doesn't want us involved so we're pretending not to be! When she gets home, we ask her how she's got on, and that's it, if she wants to tell us anymore then she will though find I get a bit of info and he dad gets a bit about something else. 16 days and counting!

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

Strangely, for a very anxious person, I am not feeling at all anxious!! I have one doing GCSE's and one 'A' Levels. Just keeping my distance, buying snacks and cooking favourite meals, ignoring mess, encouraging exercise. I think I will be more nervous on results day!!

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

Special snacks, not the usual ones you buy but things they will find as treats. (yum yums, Starbucks iced coffee and today these fantastic things called Little Moons!) Also churning out my sons fave meals this week. Agree on a small amt of chat on exiting the house. Sending lots of love and support to all. x

Expand full comment
Jun 8, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

Mum guilt as I have to leave early for work before they go to exams each day! I have one doing A levels & one GCSEs. Always deliver the cup of tea & coffee before I head off, with a motivational quote written on our white board each day. Ignoring the accumulation of revision piles at every turn (once they’re finished there will be a mass tidy / sort out!)

Expand full comment
Jun 8, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

It feels so nice to be asked! Such a tough time for worried parents juggling work and exam support and teen reactions to said support 😉. How are you doing Lorraine?

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

A levels here for our eldest daughter and so far so good but we're two exams down and 7 to go. Feels like the end of a very long road. The looming loss of her heading off to uni is overwhelming me at times with a lot of mixed emotions. For so many of us, after a tough few years supporting our teenage girls through the pandemic, I keep having to give myself a talking to that we're nearly there, although I suspect we'll soon be dealing with the next phase/hurdle. I'm trying to keep my 'please eat breakfast/get some fresh air/have an early night' comments to myself at the moment as it was clearly making her annoyed and she seems to be calmer, the less I say and the quieter I am! Plant pot parenting resumes!

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

We have both A Levels and GCSEs going on in our house. Also trying to keep a lid on my anxiety for the sake of them !! Keeping it light and casual, I try to send a ‘you’ve got this’ text before each one goes into an exam, ignoring the mess of paper and revision notes all over the house from both, making lots of cups of tea and giving shoulder massages…..

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

Eldest doing a levels here, I’m helping where needed and keeping out of the way when not. Ignoring the mess as she’s now taken over the kitchen table and has piles of post it’s all over the house. Slightly concerned as she hasn’t been feeling great after having covid again at Easter and we can’t get into the doctor for another week.

Expand full comment