4 Comments
Jul 28, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

Let all housework or life admin tasks which aren’t absolutely critical, wait. If you develop long covid you won’t be in as good a state to look after the family longer-term, so be sure to look after yourself now too. If the air hostess collapses who will look after the passengers?! Healthy takeaways, easy smoothies etc; and saying yes to/asking for help from neighbours/friends/family.

Expand full comment
Jul 28, 2022Liked by Lorraine Candy

Oh no my deepest sympathies, we’ve had it twice in our household and it’s rough going. I would try and rest and reset as much as you can , don’t go back to being normal (long covid is real). I found acupuncture very helpful every fortnight but this may not be possible or affordable for some folks and not for you if you hate needles . Sarah Bradden Boost is an amazing combo that helped lift my energy levels up. Also worth trying is cryo therapy , 3 mins in a cryo chamber so you are chilled down past minus 110 degrees . Similar benefits of outdoor swimming but not the wetness ! I tried that burnt orange hack and all I can say is Strawberries , mangos and PG tea still taste off and weird to me and it’s been since April my last covid infection (&Nov 2021) . There is nothing wrong with just staying in bed and eating takeaways , this is not a normal virus and everyone copes in different ways. Let the house get dusty and the laundry not done - that mind set to be busy needs to take a back seat to give you your time to recuperate.

I will mention hair loss as well which you may experience, so look into what you can do in supplements to support re growth . That was a real kick in the teeth for me seeing the alarming amounts of hair down the plug hole. So I take iron , zinc , biotin, copper , magnesium, horsetail extract, collagen , Vit C . Needless to say my menstrual cycle went out of whack - 3 periods in 6 weeks , became anaemic which adds to the tiredness , so watch for that amongst the ovulating females in your household.

I found days when I just did not want to eat , so would make protein shakes and add in the supplements and sip it through the day. I wish you well with your recovery and will end by saying this is not the time for any mum guilt for being sick and not able to do mum duties . A sick mum is better than no mum - I don’t mean to be alarmist but in the perspective of how this killer virus has been circulating we are all lucky to be surviving and living in a pandemic x

Expand full comment

Try Andrographis and Tulsi tea to help you get your energy and spirit back. Rest and do nothing when you can. Try and get outside (all of you) when it is warm and hope you all feel better soon. It is not easy being a mum looking after even just one patient - hope everyone is compassionate and understanding until you are all feeling better ❤️

Expand full comment